7 elements of interior design

Interior design is the art of improving the interiors, including the exterior as well, to achieve an astonishingly attractive environment for the user. And we can also say that it is the process of shaping the experience of interior space, the manipulation of the spatial volume as well as the treatment of the surface for the improvement of human functionality. An interior designer plans, researches, coordinates and manages projects.

There are 7 elements of interior design:

1. Space

Space is one of the most important parts of interior design. The space acts as a foundation upon which the entire interior design plan is built. Therefore, it is essential that the designer knows well the available space, its dimensions and its utilities.

2. Line

Lines are broadly classified into three types: horizontal, vertical, and dynamic. While horizontal lines adorn structures such as tables, chairs, and beds, vertical lines can be found on windows and doors, while horizontal lines add a sense of security to the space, vertical lines convey a free and expansive nature. Dynamic or angular lines, which are action-oriented, add drama and can be seen in structures such as stairs.

3. Forms

Shapes mean shapes in general, an outline of any three-dimensional object in space. Shapes can be created by combining two or more shapes and can be accentuated with the help of different elements like textures, patterns and colors.

4. Light

Light is one of the most obvious elements of interior design. Whether natural or artificial, without light, other elements, such as color, texture and pattern, have no meaning. Light sets the mood and ambiance in a living space and highlights all other elements, including space, line, and shapes.

5. Color

The colors do not need a special presentation. Colors establish an aesthetic affiliation between objects and create the atmosphere. Colors should be chosen based on the psychology and mentality of the inhabitant. For example, red is an excellent choice for the dining room, as it stimulates the appetite and green for the bedroom, as it is the color of tranquility and health. Each color has three distinct characteristics, namely hue, value, and intensity, and an interior designer must have a good understanding of these characteristics in order to perform various permutations and combinations. Colors are broadly classified into two categories: primary and secondary colors.

6. Texture

Texture is primarily concerned with surfaces and determines how a typical surface looks and feels. Texture adds depth and interest to the room and defines the feel / look and consistency of a surface. Texture is broadly classified into two types: visual texture, where the texture is only visible, and actual texture, where the texture is seen and felt. Everything that has to do with textiles such as pillowcases, bedspreads, or anything that has to do with covers such as curtains, wall paint, or wallpapers is textured.

7. Pattern

Patterns add interest and life to interior design and work together with colors. Patterns tell a story of their own and add the elements of continuity and smooth transition in a room. The patterns can be of any shape and are mostly included in attractive and repetitive designs.